Veggie Week: Parsnip Bacon

11 Oct

Have you ever had a night where all you do is sit & think? Last night that happened to me. I was looking over a menu for our reception hall, trying to think of good combinations of hors devours and I realized that there are ALOT of meat options. Chicken wraps, sirloin skewers, etc. There were not a lot of vegetarian friendly options AND people put bacon in everything! I love bacon but I mean – hello heart disease.

I myself an a carnivore but have a couple of friends who are vegan and/or vegetarians. I was sitting on my couch thinking “Could I ever NOT eat meat?!” and thus decided to try it for one week. I am starting today and going to be a “suto-vegetarian” until Sunday. I want to try recipes that are all about vegetables and how great they are and in turn, I am going to blog them – this entire week. 1 recipe a day. Starting with – Parsnip Bacon.

PARSNIP BACON

Ingredients:

  • 1 large parsnip
  • olive oil for brushing
  • smoked or seasoned salt

    Using a sharp vegetable peeler, slice the peeled parsnip lengthwise into thin strips. Brush both sides with vegetable oil and arrange on a parchment paper–lined cookie sheet. Season with smoked salt. Cover with a sheet of parchment and top with another cookie sheet. Bake at 300 until brown and crisp. Let cool before serving.

Watch for a give away at the end of the week!

2 Responses to “Veggie Week: Parsnip Bacon”

  1. Chris October 11, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    I never would have thought of this. You could put this in a pasta carbonara and leave out the real bacon. Very nice idea.

  2. Jordan P October 18, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    All these are making me want to try meat free week too!

Leave a Reply

