Heirloom Olive Oil Ravioli

7 Jul

Some of my favorite things to cook with are tomatoes, olive oil, and most of all basil. Mix them together and its like a party in your mouth. This recipe, as almost all my recipes do, has a story.

I had been visiting my fiancé in Minneapolis a couple of weeks ago and as I was driving back to Bismarck I remembered my favorite grocery store, Trader Joe’s, was on my way out west. I stopped in the store and I think I grabbed just about every organic item I could! Bismarck does not have an organic grocery store and the selection here is pretty scarce. After I came to my senses and put the whole store back on the shelfs I selected a carton of baby heirloom tomatoes and a package of artichoke ravioli. When I got to the counter the cashier GUSHED about how great this ravioli was and told me how he used vodka sauce the night prior with it and now has bought a case. A CASE. Wow. I thought maybe I should buy another package… no it’s ok, it’s just ravioli.

When I got home [7 hours later!] I put the ingredients away and went to bed, not really giving them a second thought. The next day during my lunch break from work I opened the fridge and grabbed the ravioli. “I have no pasta sauce.” I thought. I was about to put the ravioli back in the fridge when I saw the tomatoes. I proceeded to get creative and use some other ingredients as well. After I sat down and tasted the ravioli, I instantly said “MAN! I should have boughten so much more of this!” I think I licked the plate clean! I now have a friend bringing me multiple packages of this ravioli when she comes to visit next week. Shame on me for doubting the cashier and only buying one package!

For this recipe you will need –

  • 1 carton of mini heirloom tomatoes [or cherry tomatoes]
  • 1 package of Trader Joes Artichoke Ravioli [or refrigerated ravioli]
  • Olive Oil
  • 1 Table spoon of minced garlic
  • 2 leaves of fresh basil
  • Salt
  • Pepper

In a pot bring water to a boil for your ravioli. While waiting for the water to boil, coat the bottom of a skillet with olive oil and heat to medium adding the garlic and tomatoes. Cover the skillet and let the tomatoes simmer in the olive oil, tossing every few minutes. Once some of the tomatoes, for lack of a better word, explode remove the skillet from heat. Drain the ravioli. Add basil, salt, and pepper to taste and top ravioli. Enjoy! Makes about 2-3 servings.

One Response to “Heirloom Olive Oil Ravioli”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Heirloom Olive Oil Ravioli « | ClubEvoo - July 7, 2010

    […] Continue reading here: Heirloom Olive Oil Ravioli « […]

Leave a Reply

