Food Nights!

22 Jun

One of my FAVORITE things to do is cook with my friends and have nights dedicated to learning about food, cooking food, etc. This past week I was blessed to be a part of two food nights. One with my friends Chris, Shannon, Tara, and Arianne and the other with my friend Josh who recently went to the Culinary Institute of America. I want to share with you pictures from these awesome nights along with some of the recipes

Wednesday, June 16, 2010
–> Main course: Greek steak, chicken, grilled veggies with couscous salad

To the main course I contributed the Couscous Salad – and easy salad recipe found here – http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/cherry-tomato-couscous-recipe.html

–> Dessert: Peanut butter and Jelly Ice Cream Sandwiches.

These are really good! But make sure you don’t have a freezer that turns your ice cream into mush. I used Paula Deens recipe for this but substituted store-bought ice cream. Recipe – http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/peanut-butter-and-jelly-ice-cream-sandwiches-recipe/index.html

Some more pictures from this  food night, I love my friends & their kids!

Chris sporting his Coke apron getting ready to Grill

Carter getting excited for food… The next generation foodie!

Food Night #2

I don’t see my high school friends very often but when I found out my friend Josh had moved back to Bismarck after culinary school in New York [Culinary Institute of America] I HAD to hang out with him. We decided to do a food night as well, this one was crazy. All food nights are good nights BUT when you have a professionally trained Chef in your kitchen…. lets just say I had to walk away because my mouth was watering. Here is what Josh made-

–> Main course: Pork Tenderloin with a Jalapeno-Cilantro glaze, Scallion-Garlic mashed potatoes, and balsamic glazed asparagus.

I have no recipes for any of this but it was the best pork I have ever put into my mouth.

–> Dessert: Grilled Pineapple rings with vanilla bean ice cream and honey.

This is a recipe I made up for my friend Baltimore a couple of years back.

For this recipe you will need-

  • 1 can of pineapple rings
  • 1 quart of Vanilla Bean Ice Cream [trust me, you should not use regular or french vanilla]
  • Honey to drizzle

Arrange about 4 rings of pineapple in a skillet and cook until they turn a slight shade of brown – like a grill mark color. Put 2 rings in each bowl and top with vanilla bean ice cream, drizzle honey on top and enjoy.

Other photos from this food night-

Josh squeezing some lime juice for the jalapeno-cilantro glaze. This guy can COOK.

The crappiest part of having food nights in my small apartment.

Food nights are such a great way to enjoy food and friendship, I encourage you to have some food nights of your own! This Wednesday I am making Indian Tacos for a food night with my friend Hillary, stay tuned for lots of recipes and mouth-watering pictures!

Leave a Reply

