Garlic Shrimp Pasta

15 Jun

If you are a lover of easy recipes, I think you will really enjoy this one. This recipe was made up in a penny-pinching time with my 2 former roommates. We had spent so much money on food for our first Thanksgiving together in 2008 that we didn’t dare step into a grocery store for weeks after. We eventually ran out of food of course, but me being the cook in our little makeshift family I was not about to let us starve. I challenged myself to make a meal out of what we had leftover. I believe we had a bag of frozen shrimp, old cranberry sauce, some stuffing, a bag of frozen broccoli, a couple of boxes of dried pasta, and some garlic & herb cracker dip.  If you are looking for the spread in the grocery store, I have only ever been able to find it in the “fancy cheese” section. I took a picture of the cover to give you some help-

When the dish was done, it received rave reviews from my roommates who insisted I make it again and again. It has now become an easy go to recipe. I hope you enjoy it.

For this recipe you will need- [serves 4-6]

  • 1 bag of medium [40-50] fully cooked tail off shrimp
  • 1 small box of angel hair pasta
  • 1 cup of frozen broccoli
  • 1 container of rondele cracker spread – I used garlic & herb
  • 1 cup of milk

Start by heating the shrimp in a large skillet, you don’t need to use any butter or Olive Oil since the shrimp will have excess water being previously frozen. When cooked through drain the shrimp and add the cracker spread. This spread is more like a light whipped butter than anything, add milk to the sauce to thin.  Bring a pot of water to boil, adding the pasta when at a full boil. When pasta has just about two minutes left to cook, add broccoli to the water. When broccoli is fully cooked, drain the pasta and spoon onto a plate. Cover with shrimp sauce and serve. I add lowrys seasoning salt on top for added flavor.

Leave a Reply

