Mozzarella Bruschetta

8 Jun

I love tomatoes. Heirloom, Roma, yellow, orange, beefsteak, whatever I love them all. For my first food post I thought it would be appropriate to pay respects to my favorite… vegetable? Fruit? Fruit I believe. Anyway, I work at a travel agency during the day while I serve at a restaurant at night. A couple of days ago my two of my worlds collided when my boss at the travel agency asked me to look up menus for her upcoming trip to New York City. I found this one –> http://www.momacafes.com/c2/menus/c2.pdf and as I was looking it over, I saw they had Mozzarella di Buffa and Olive Tapenade Bruschetta. YUM that made my mouth water. Needless to say I went to the grocery store that evening so I could put my own spin on Bruschetta. I think it turned out rather well [and fine the fridge overnight]. I made two different versions, one with aged Mozzarella  and one with fresh.

Fresh Mozzarella Bruschetta-

Aged Mozzarella Bruschetta

For this recipe you will need:

  • 3 tomatoes – any kind you like I used beefsteak
  • 2 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1/2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2-3 leaves of fresh basil
  • 1 loaf of french bread or 2 mini loafs of french bread
  • 1 tsp fresh garlic, minced
  • pinch of salt
  • cracked pepper

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees [F]. Cut up bread into 1/2 inch thick slices and brush with Olive Oil, set bread pieces Olive Oil side down on a cookie sheet into your oven. Watch the bread closely, should start to brown quickly about 4-5 minutes.

Make the Bruschetta: Boil a small pot of water, remove from heat right after boiling. Put tomatoes into water for about 2 minutes, enough for the skin to peel off quickly. Let tomatoes sit for a minute so you can cut them and not burn your hands. Once the tomatoes have cooled, core them and seed them before dicing them. Toss the sliced tomatoes with Olive Oil, balsamic vineger, basil, garlic and whatever type mozzarella you prefer. Put a spoonful of bruschetta on each slice of french bread, drizzle with a light stream of olive oil and top with salt & pepper. Enjoy!

*If you tried this recipe, please comment and let me know how your bruschetta turned out!

Leave a Reply

